Alexanderplatz

Wohnen, Berlin/Germany

 

coral reefs

 
authors:
type/year:
images:
ingenhoven architects
2013, internationaler Wettbewerb, 4. Platz
ingenhoven architects

The Alexanderplatz in Berlin is a mirror of urban diversity. Up to 400,000 people walk across the largest square in Germany every day. Like Berlin itself, the "Alex" is not a homogeneous place, but colourful, multicultural, multi-layered and subject to constant change.

A residential building on the corner of Alexanderplatz and Alexanderstraße must adapt to this place in a special way. Instead of state-bearing big-city architecture, the 150-metre high residential tower is open, transparent and individual. The building tapers upwards in line with its five different uses: base, hotel, small apartments, larger apartments and penthouses.

The modular skeleton construction allows flexible floor plan solutions for the individual apartments and penthouses. Similar to a coral reef, the house is divided into different zones, which are inhabited by different people due to the conditions prevailing there. Everyone finds his place and can create his own space.

The appearance of the tower is dominated by the green terraces in front of the apartments. The arrangement of the transparent façade elements, balconies, terraces and loggias makes optimal use of the façade orientation and allows a spectacular view over the city.

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

Alexanderplatz

Wohnen, Berlin/Germany

 

Ein Haus wie ein Riff

 
authors:
type/year:
images:
ingenhoven architects
2013, internationaler Wettbewerb, 4. Platz
ingenhoven architects

Der Alexanderplatz in Berlin ist ein Spiegel urbaner Vielfalt. Bis zu 400.000 Menschen gehen jeden Tag über den größten Platz Deutschlands. Wie Berlin selbst, ist der „Alex“ kein homogener Ort, sondern bunt schillernd, multikulturell, vielschichtig und unterliegt ständigem Wandel.

Ein Wohnhaus an der Ecke Alexanderplatz/Alexanderstraße muss sich diesem Ort auf besondere Weise anpassen. Anstelle staatstragender Großstadtarchitektur, ist das 150 Meter hohe Wohnhochhaus offen, transparent und individuell. Das Haus verjüngt sich nach oben im Einklang mit seinen fünf unterschiedlichen Nutzungszwecken: Sockel, Hotel, kleine Wohnungen, größere Wohnungen und Penthouses.

Die modulare Skelettbauweise erlaubt flexible Grundrisslösungen der einzelnen Wohnungen und Penthouses. Ähnlich eines Korallenriffs, gliedert sich das Haus in unterschiedliche Zonen, die auf Grund der dort vorherrschenden Bedingungen von unterschiedlichen Menschen bewohnt werden. Jeder findet seinen Platz und kann seinen eigenen Raum schaffen.

Das Erscheinungsbild des Turms wird von den begrünten Terrassen vor den Wohnungen geprägt. Die Anordnung der transparenten Fassadenelemente, Balkone, Terrassen und Loggien nutzt die Fassadenausrichtung in optimaler Weise und ermöglicht einen spektakulären Blick über die Stadt.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA