Bauhaus Museum

Museum of Art, Dessau/Germany
 
type/year:
images:

 

the Bauhaus

international competition 2014
Ben Dieckmann
bloomimages

The legendary Bauhaus College of Design existed only from 1919 to 1933 and still has an effect to the present day. The multitude of art forms practiced at the Bauhaus, as well as the examination of social, political and cultural themes, make the presentation of the Bauhaus an architectural challenge. 
The basic idea behind the museum design is a central space around which two vertical spirals spiral in a double helix. The inner helix is a ramp access that leads visitors upwards clockwise from the entrance level. This is where the tour begins, followed by the exhibition rooms in the outer spiral, which screws downwards.
The central space can be understood as the spiritual space of Bauhaus thought, around which the topoi revolve in an orbit. With its floor for actions and its walls for projections, the atrium is at the same time an essential medium in the exhibition concept. The exhibition rooms have optimal proportions for exhibitions, which make it easy to play with lots of wall space. 
While the rooms on the inside of the atrium sit straight on top of each other, they are different on the outside due to their individual size, which leads to the strong structure of the façade.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

Bauhaus Museum

Museum of Art, Dessau/Germany
 
type/year:
images:

 

im Orbit des Bauhauses

international competition 2014
Ben Dieckmann
bloomimages

Die legendäre Bauhaus Hochschule für Gestaltung in Dessau bestand nur von 1919 bis 1933 und wirkt dennoch bis in die Gegenwart fort. Die Vielzahl der Kunstformen, die am Bauhaus praktiziert wurden, sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit den gesellschaftlichen, politischen und kulturellen Themen, machen die Präsentation des Bauhauses zu einer architektonischen Herausforderung.

Der Grundgedanke des Museumsentwurfs ist ein zentraler Raum, um den sich in einer Doppelhelix zwei vertikale Spiralen schrauben. Die innere Helix ist eine Rampenerschließung, die die Besucher von der Eingangsebene im Uhrzeigersinn nach oben leitet. Hier beginnt der Rundgang. In der äußeren Spirale, die sich nach unten schraubt, folgen die Ausstellungsräume.

Der zentrale Raum kann als spiritueller Raum des Bauhaus Gedanken verstanden werden, um den sich die Topoi in einem Orbit drehen. Das Atrium ist mit seinem Boden für Aktionen und seinen Wänden für Projektionen gleichzeitig ein wesentliches Medium im Ausstellungskonzept. Die Ausstellungsräume haben für Ausstellungen optimale Proportionen, die mit viel Wandfläche ein Bespielen leicht ermöglichen.

Während die Räume an der Innenseite zum Atrium gerade aufeinander sitzen, sind sie aufgrund ihrer individuellen Größe nach außen unterschiedlich, was zu der starken Gliederung der Fassade führt.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA