Breezé Tower

Mixed-Use, Osaka/Japan
 
authors:
type/year:
images:
ingenhoven architects
2004-2008
ingenhoven architects

 

Inside-Out Style 

The customer's wish was to retain a clear, rectangular floor plan inside with as generous and flexible a useable area as possible. To meet this wish, the building infrastructure - such as elevators and technical equipment - was docked on the outside.

This so-called "bowellism" goes back to the English architect Michael Webb and describes a building in which the entire infrastructure is relocated to the outside. Its called "Bowellism" (bowel = German bowel) because it reminded him of how the human body functions. The most important representative of this style is the English architect Richard Rogers.

In 2002, the 177-metre high Breezé Tower in Osaka, Japan, was the first successful international competition of ingenhoven architects under the direction of Ben Dieckmann, who was responsible for the internationalisation of ingenhoven architects until 2015.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

Breezé Tower

Mixed-Use, Osaka/Japan
 
authors:
type/year:
images:
ingenhoven architects
2004-2008
ingenhoven architects

 

Inside-Out Style 

Der Wunsch des Kundens war es, innen einen klaren, rechteckigen Grundriss mit möglichst großzügiger und flexibler Nutzungsfläche zu bewahren. Um diesem Wunsch zu entsprechen, wurde die Gebäudeinfrastruktur – wie Fahrstühle und Technik – außen angedockt.

Dieser sogenannte „Bowellism“ geht zurück auf den englischen Architekten Michael Webb und bezeichnet ein Gebäude, bei dem die gesamte Infrastruktur nach außen verlegt wird. Er nannte es „Bowellism“ (bowel = dt. Darm), weil es ihn an die Funktionsweise des menschlichen Körpers erinnerte. Der bedeutendste Vertreter dieses Stils ist der englische Architekt Richard Rogers.

Der 177 Meter hohe Breezé Tower in Osaka/Japan war 2002 der erste erfolgreiche internationale Wettbewerb von ingenhoven architects unter Leitung von Ben Dieckmann. Bis zum Jahr 2015 war er für die Internationalisierung von ingenhoven architects verantwortlich.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA