Burg Angermund

Düsseldorf/Germany
 
type/year:
images:

 

great hall

 
2018-
Ben Dieckmann

Built in the 12th century, the Wasserburg Angermund is today one of Düsseldorf's most important architectural monuments. The three-storey main building to the west is supported by quarrystone walls and dates from the 13th century.

The medieval castle has been used again as a residential complex for around forty years. A former knight's hall was also converted into an apartment. However, the architecture of the eighties looked very heavy and clumsy in the historic hall.

Instead, the redesign pursues the goal of a functional and contemporary architecture that does justice to the historical space.

The authentic elements of the centuries-old building are preserved and consciously staged. The heart of the living room is the two metre high, original chimney system. The exposed antique ceiling beams and the fireplace on one side are contrasted by a composition of white, steel and light. Spotlights attached to a filigree parapet set the scene for the beam structure. Straight and unagitated furniture creates a contrast to the antique elements:  The Middle Ages and modernity enter into a synthesis.

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

Burg Angermund

Düsseldorf/Germany
 
type/year:
images:

 

Rittersaal

 
2018-
Ben Dieckmann

Im 12. Jahrhundert gebaut zählt die Wasserburg Angermund heute zu den bedeutendsten Baudenkmälern Düsseldorfs. Der westlich gelegene dreistöckige Hauptbau wird von Bruchsteinmauern getragen und stammt im Wesentlichen noch aus dem 13. Jahrhundert.

Seit rund vierzig Jahren wird die Mittelalterburg wieder als Wohnanlage genutzt. Auch ein ehemaliger Rittersaal wurde damals zu einer Wohnung umgebaut. Die Architektur der achtziger Jahre wirkte in dem historischen Saal jedoch sehr schwer und plump.

Die Neugestaltung verfolgt stattdessen das Ziel einer funktionalen und zeitgemäßen Architektur, die dem historischen Raum gerecht wird.

Die authentischen Elemente des Jahrhunderte alten Baus werden erhalten und bewusst in Szene gesetzt. Das Herzstück des Wohnzimmers bildet die zwei Meter hohe, originale Kaminanlage. Den freiliegenden antiken Deckenbalken und dem Kamin auf der einen Seite, wird eine Komposition aus Weiß, Stahl und Licht entgegengesetzt. Leuchtspots, die an einer filigranen Brüstung angebracht werden, setzen die Balkenstruktur in Szene. Gradliniges und unaufgeregtes Mobiliar schafft einen Kontrast zu den antiken Elementen:  Mittelalter und Moderne gehen eine Synthese ein.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA