BRCMUP, Nevada

Burning Man at Black Rock City, Nevada/USA
 
type/year:
images:
urban planning competition 2015
Ben Dieckmann, BRCMUP

 

sun worshipper

For more than thirty years, the Burning Man Festival has been taking place in the Black Rock desert of Nevada. A growing number of visitors and an urgently needed optimization of the festival infrastructure led to a competition.
The design improves the organization without changing the form and size of the festival. Instead of expanding, the design seeks to make better use of existing resources in order to realize the festival's full potential.
The circular shape of the site will remain. However, the division of the individual streets is purely numerical, with hour displays on a horizontal sundial. For even more precise positioning, the 24 individual sections are again divided into minute sections.
The outsourcing of all cars creates more safety and larger tent areas. Cars are only allowed to drive on "30min" roads. All other roads become bicycle and pedestrian zones. More event locations, such as the "sunset city" or the "sunrise point", will make better use of the extensive grounds and make them more intensive. Here, too, the place name is based on the position of the sun.
With the idea of the sundial, the surroundings of the sun-drenched desert are taken up and the festival becomes a safe place with simple orientation. The removal of the cars creates more space for tents and thus also for festival visitors. All in all, a more intensive festival experience is achieved with clear and short distances.

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

BRCMUP, Nevada

Burning Man at Black Rock City, Nevada/USA
 
type/year:
images:
urban planning competition 2015
Ben Dieckmann, BRCMUP

 

Sonnenanbeter

Seit mehr als dreißig Jahren findet das Burning Man Festival bereits in der Black-Rock-Wüste in Nevada statt. Wachsende Besucherzahlen und eine dringend benötigte Optimierung der Festivalinfrastruktur führten zu einer Wettbewerbsausschreibung.
Der Entwurf verbessert die Organisation, ohne Form und Größe des Festivals zu verändern. Anstatt zu erweitern, versucht der Entwurf vorhandene Ressourcen besser zu nutzen, um das volle Potenzial des Festivals auszuschöpfen.
Die kreisrunde Form des Geländes bleibt bestehen. Die Einteilung der einzelnen Straßen erfolgt jedoch rein nummerisch durch Stundenanzeigen einer horizontalen Sonnenuhr. Für noch genauere Ortsbestimmungen gliedern sich die 24 Einzelabschnitte nochmals in Minutenabschnitte.
Eine Auslagerung aller Autos schafft mehr Sicherheit und größere Zeltbereiche. Autos dürfen nur noch auf „30min“ Straßen fahren. Alle anderen Wege werden zu Fahrrad- und Fußgängerzonen. Durch mehr Veranstaltungsstandorte, wie der „sunset city“ oder dem „sunrise point“, soll das weitläufige Gelände besser genutzt und intensiver gestaltet werden. Auch hier orientiert sich die Ortsbezeichnung am Stand der Sonne.
Mit der Idee der Sonnenuhr wird das Umfeld der sonnendurchfluteten Wüste aufgenommen und das Festival zu einem sicheren Ort mit einfacher Orientierung. Die Auslagerung der Autos schafft mehr Platz für Zelte und damit auch für Festivalbesucher. Insgesamt wird so ein intensiveres Festivalerlebnis mit klaren und kurzen Wegen erreicht.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA