Centro Oberhausen

Hotel, Oberhausen/Germany
 
authors:
type/year:
images:
Ben Dieckmann architects
2019-
Alexander Schmitz

 

urban place

Event halls, Aquazoo, leisure park and more than two hundred fashion shops - the Centro in Oberhausen is one of the largest shopping and leisure centres in Europe. The multitude of tourist attractions attracts countless visitors from abroad and at home to the Ruhr area.

A hotel must do justice to the heterogeneity of this place. The design by Ben Dieckmann architects does not see the hotel as an isolated space, but transforms it into a holistic urban concept, taking into account the surrounding buildings and tourist attractions. On the square in front of an event hall, an appropriate square is created that creates urban quality.

The design provides a square and clear floor plan. The cube is fully glazed on the ground floor. This creates transparency towards the new public square. The hotel rooms are accommodated on the upper floors and are accessed by an atrium in the centre. Small portholes in the corridors create the impression of a starry sky in the dark. The large atrium thus becomes a kind of sky vault.

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

Centro Oberhausen

Hotel, Oberhausen/Germany
 
authors:
type/year:
images:
Ben Dieckmann architects
2019-
Alexander Schmitz

 

plaza urbana

Eventhallen, Aquazoo, Freizeitpark und dazu über zweihundert Modegeschäfte – das Centro in Oberhausen zählt zu den größten Einkaufs- und Freizeitzentren Europas. Die Vielzahl der touristischen Angebote lockt unzählige auswärtige Besucher aus dem In- und Ausland ins Ruhrgebiet.

Ein Hotel muss der Heterogenität dieses Ortes gerecht werden. Der Entwurf von Ben Dieckmann architects versteht das Hotel nicht als isolierten Raum, sondern überführt es unter Berücksichtigung der umliegenden Bebauungen und Touristenattraktionen in ein ganzheitliches urbanes Konzept. Auf dem Platz vor einer Eventhalle entsteht dafür ein angemessener Platz, der städtische Qualität schafft.

Der Entwurf sieht einen quadratischen und klaren Grundriss vor. Der Kubus ist im Erdgeschoss vollverglast. Das schafft Transparenz zum neuen, öffentlichen Platz hin. In den Obergeschossen sind die Hotelzimmer untergebracht, die im Zentrum durch ein Atrium erschlossen werden. Durch kleine Bullaugen, die in den Fluren eingesetzt werden, entsteht in der Dunkelheit der Eindruck eines Sternenhimmels. Das große Atrium wird dadurch zu einer Art Himmelsgewölbe.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA