Cecilienallee 5

Düsseldorf/Germany

 

rediscovered

 
authors:
type/year:
images:
ingenhoven architects
Renovation & Extension/1997-1998
ingenhoven architects

In 1953 the New York architectural firm Skidmore, Owings & Merrill designed the building of the former American Consulate General in Düsseldorf. The late modern skeleton building consists of a four-storey office block and a low building leading into the garden.

When Ingenhoven, Overdiek, Kahlen und Partner moved into the building in 1992, there had not yet been any changes to the building's substance. The architects identified themselves with the architecture of the purist building and then planned its renovation, conversion and extension. In doing so, they attached great importance to a careful restoration that preserves as much of the original substance as possible.

The extreme heating and sound immissions of the existing building were reduced during the renovation without destroying the filigree image of the historic façade. For this purpose, the single glazing was supplemented by a second, inner glass layer of sliding windows. The new building picks up the proportions of the old building and demarcates the site from Emmericher Straße. The low-rise building now becomes a connecting element, housing the library and meeting rooms.

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

Cecilienallee 5

Düsseldorf/Germany

 

neu entdeckt

 
authors:
type/year:
images:
ingenhoven architects
Renovation & Extension/1997-1998
ingenhoven architects

Im Jahr 1953 entwarf das New Yorker Architekturbüro Skidmore, Owings & Merrill das Gebäude des ehemaligen amerikanischen Generalkonsulats in Düsseldorf. Der spätmoderne Skelettbau besteht aus einem viergeschossigen Büroriegel und einem in den Garten führenden Flachbau.

Als 1992 Ingenhoven, Overdiek, Kahlen und Partner das Haus bezogen, hatte es noch keine Substanzveränderungen gegeben. Die Architekten identifizierten sich mit der Architektur des puristischen Gebäudes und planten daraufhin dessen Renovierung, Umbau und Erweiterung. Dabei legten sie Wert auf eine behutsame Instandsetzung, die möglichst viel Originalsubstanz erhält.

Die extreme Aufheizung und die Schallimmission des Baubestandes wurden im Rahmen der Renovierung reduziert, ohne das filigrane Bild der historischen Fassade zu zerstören. Dafür wurde die Einfachverglasung um eine zweite, innere Glasschicht aus Schiebefenstern ergänzt. Der Neubau greift die Proportionen des Altbaus auf und grenzt das Grundstück zur Emmericher Straße ab. Der Flachbau wird nun zum verbindenden Bauteil, in ihm sind die Bibliothek und Besprechungsräume untergebracht.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA