BYCV4117_edited.jpg

Haus R

Münster/Germany
 
type/year:
images:
 
2020-2022
Ben Dieckmann

 
meeting point

In the early 1950s, a factory building for an electronics store was built in a backyard in downtown Münster. Today the business no longer exists. The conversion into a residential building for the generation of grandchildren makes the building fit for the future – while preserving its history at the same time.

 

The former garages on the ground floor have been transformed into a large living space. The garage ceilings, which were cast using board formwork, were preserved. However, since the ceiling height was too low, the floor was lowered and partly opened up on two floors. Instead of the garage doors, floor-to-ceiling windows now support the industrial loft character of the open living and dining area.

 

The upper floors were previously used as storage rooms. The conversion creates space for a work area, two children's rooms and a bathroom on the first floor. The attic serves as the parents' area. The floor is divided into bedrooms, dressing rooms and storage by half-height walls - the beam structure remains openly visible.

 

The result is a residential building that is completely unique in the city of Münster, in the middle of the city but far from its hustle and bustle.

 

 

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

BYCV4117_edited.jpg

Haus R

Münster/Germany
 
type/year:
images:
 
2020-2022
Ben Dieckmann

 
Familienunternehmen

In einem Hinterhof der Münsteraner Innenstadt wurde Anfang der 1950er Jahre ein Betriebsgebäude für einen Elektrohandel gebaut. Heute gibt es den Betrieb nicht mehr. Der Umbau zu einem Wohnhaus für die Enkelgeneration macht das Gebäude zukunftsfähig – und bewahrt gleichzeitig dessen Geschichte.

 

Aus den früheren Garagen im Erdgeschoss wurde ein großer Wohnraum. Die durch Brettschalung gegossenen Garagendecken wurden erhalten. Da die Deckenhöhe jedoch zu niedrig war, wurde das Geschoss abgesenkt und zum Teil zweigeschossig geöffnet. Anstelle der Garagentore unterstützen nun bodentiefe Fenster den industriellen Loftcharakter des offenen Wohn- und Essbereiches.

 

Die oberen Geschosse wurden zuvor als Lagerräume genutzt. Der Umbau schafft Platz für einen Arbeitsbereich, zwei Kinderzimmer und ein Bad im ersten Obergeschoss. Der Dachstuhl dient als Elternbereich. Das Geschoss wird durch halhohe Wände in Schlafen, Ankleide und  Lager gegliedert – die Balkenstruktur bleibt offen sichtbar.

 

Das Ergebnis ist ein in der Stadt Münster vollkommen einzigartiges Wohnhaus, mitten in der Stadt aber Fern des Trubels.
 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf