Dorfcenter

Düsseldorf/Germany
 
type/year:
images:
2018 (study)
Alexander Schmitz

 

downtown

Inner cities are the social centre of a city. They should be a place of encounter and communication and must remain lively and attractive in order to be fit for the future despite the booming online trade.

In the centre of a Meerbusch district, an uncontrolled growth of advertising and an indiscriminate use of public space had been creeping in for over forty years. Ben Dieckmann architects revitalized the village with the "Dorfcenter" design and gave it a clear overall appearance. Individual billboards and awnings were removed and a homogeneous concept was created using bricks, glass and metal.

Due to the loss of all physically and visually disturbing elements, the sidewalk appears much tidier and the attention of passers-by is once again focused on the shops. Uniform billboards displayed in the street space can be better perceived in the narrow street. Instead of a large number of individual bicycle stands, bicycle parking spaces are installed at two central locations. The trees are given tree discs so that the entire area from the shop front to the curb becomes a public boulevard. Cafés and restaurants thus have the opportunity to extend their guest rooms to the outside areas.

The homogeneity of the new city centre gives it an attractive and noble appearance. This revitalisation is also expressed in the naming of the "Dorfcenter" and the logo designed by Ben Dieckmann architects.

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

Dorfcenter

Düsseldorf/Germany
 
type/year:
images:
2018 (study)
Alexander Schmitz

 

Dorfcenter

Innenstädte sind das soziale Zentrum einer Stadt. Sie sollen ein Ort der Begegnung und Kommunikation sein und müssen lebendig und attraktiv bleiben, um trotz des boomenden Onlinehandels zukunftsfähig zu sein.

Im Zentrum eines Meerbuscher Stadtteils hatte sich seit über vierzig Jahren ein Wildwuchs an Werbung und eine wahllose Nutzung des öffentlichen Raums eingeschlichen. Mit dem Entwurf „Dorfcenter“ revitalisiert Ben Dieckmann architects den Ort und gibt ihm eine klare Gesamterscheinung. Individuelle Werbetafeln und Markisen werden entfernt und mittels der Materialien Ziegel, Glas und Metall ein homogenes Konzept geschaffen.

Durch den Verlust aller physisch und optisch störenden Elemente wirkt der Bürgersteig deutlich aufgeräumter und die Aufmerksamkeit der Passanten richtet sich wieder verstärkt auf die Läden. Einheitliche in den Straßenraum ausgestellte Werbetafeln können in der schmalen Straße besser wahrgenommen werden. Anstelle einer Vielzahl einzelner Fahrradständer werden an zwei zentralen Stellen Fahrradstellplätze installiert. Die Bäume erhalten Baumscheiben, sodass die gesamte Fläche von der Ladenfront bis zur Bordsteinkante zum öffentlichen Boulevard wird. Cafés und Restaurants haben so die Möglichkeit, ihren Gastraum auf die Außenbereiche zu erweitern.

Die Homogenität des neuen Stadtzentrums verleiht diesem ein attraktives und edles Erscheinungsbild. Diese Revitalisierung findet ihren Ausdruck auch in dem von Ben Dieckmann architects entwickelten Namensgebung des „Dorfcenter“ und dem dazu gestalteten Logo.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA