EIB Luxemburg

European Investment Bank HQs, Luxembourg
 
authors:
type/year:
images:

 

the art of engineering

ingenhoven architects
2002-2008
ingenhoven architects
Hans-Georg Esch, Seele
The European Investment Bank (EIB)'s new administrative building, an extension of the existing building designed by the British architect Denys Lasdun, is a masterpiece of civil engineering.
It is not a representative building in the classical sense. An innovative office concept, ecological materials and a high level of engineering effort have resulted in a contemporary administration building. Architecture can be experienced as the art of engineering and at the same time a space for innovation and people is created.
Particularly striking is the 13,000 m² glass shell spanning the V-shaped office building and offering maximum daylight and transparency. The office buildings are organized side by side, creating triangular atria and winter gardens that connect the building with the surrounding Kirchberg plateau and provide natural ventilation for the offices.
The typology of the office floors creates a flexible structure without hierarchies for almost 1,000 employees. In addition, communication and spontaneous interaction are promoted by open, shared zones between the offices.
 
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

EIB Luxemburg

European Investment Bank HQs, Luxembourg
 
authors:
type/year:
images:

 

Ingenieursbaukunst

ingenhoven architects
2002-2008
ingenhoven architects
Hans-Georg Esch, Seele
Mit dem neuen Verwaltungsgebäude der Europäischen Investitionsbank (EIB), einer Erweiterung des bestehenden Baus des britischen Architekten Denys Lasdun, wurde ein Meisterwerk der Bauingenieurskunst geschaffen.
Dabei handelt es sich nicht um ein repräsentatives Gebäude im klassischen Sinne. Durch ein innovatives Bürokonzept, ökologische Materialien und einen hohen ingenieurtechnischen Aufwand entstand ein zeitgemäßes Verwaltungsgebäude. Architektur wird als Ingenieurbaukunst erlebbar und gleichzeitig ein Raum für Innovationen und Menschen geschaffen.
Besonders markant ist die 13.000 qm große Glashülle, die die V-förmigen Bürogebäude überspannt und ein Maximum an Tageslicht und Transparenz bietet. Die Bürogebäude sind nebeneinander organisiert, sodass dreieckige Atrien und Wintergärten entstehen, die das Gebäude mit dem Umland des Kirchbergplateaus verbinden und eine natürliche Belüftung der Büros ermöglichen.
Durch die Typologie der Bürogeschosse entsteht eine flexible Struktur hierarchieloser Arbeitsplätze für knapp 1.000 Mitarbeiter. Darüber hinaus wird Kommunikation und spontane Interaktion durch offene, gemeinsam genutzte Zonen zwischen den Büroräumen gefördert.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA