EPO Den Haag

European Patent Office, Rijswijk/Netherlands
 
authors:
type/year:
images:

patent

ingenhoven architects
intern. comp. 2011
ingenhoven architects
Alexander Schmitz
The European Patent Office (EPO) in The Hague houses the world's largest collection of patents. As an institution, it protects and preserves the intellectual property of scientists, researchers and engineers in Europe. The architectural response to such an institution is a design that is innovative and at the same time stands for solidity and timelessness.
The new EPO building meets these requirements with a quiet but distinctive architecture. The building consists of three towers, each with a square floor plan of 30x30m and slightly asymmetrical to each other. They rise above the entrance podium, which forms the horizontal access. Each tower has 26 storeys connected by pedestrian bridges. The external façade is completely glazed and gives the building its distinctive appearance. The view - which can be admired above all from the public roof terrace - is also spectacular.
The EPO Campus should not be a pure working environment. The well-being of the EPO staff should be improved through individuality, places for encounter and communication and contact with nature. Cafeterias, canteens and sports facilities therefore form an important part of the campus. A garden on the roof of the entrance podium, accessible by public elevators, offers places for spontaneous communication and relaxation.
 
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

EPO Den Haag

European Patent Office, Rijswijk/Netherlands
 
authors:
type/year:
images:

 

patent

ingenhoven architects
intern. comp. 2011
ingenhoven architects
Alexander Schmitz
Das Europäische Patentamt (EPO) in Den Haag beherbergt die weltweit größte Sammlung an Patenten. Als Institution schützt und bewahrt es das geistige Eigentum von Wissenschaftlern, Forschern und Ingenieuren in Europa. Die architektonische Antwort auf eine solche Institution ist ein Design, dass innovativ ist und gleichzeitig für Solidität und Zeitlosigkeit steht.
Das neue EPO Gebäude erfüllt diese Anforderungen mit einer stillen, aber unverwechselbaren Architektur. Das Gebäude setzt sich aus drei Türmen zusammen, die jeweils einen quadratischen Grundriss von 30x30m haben und leicht asymmetrisch zueinander angeordnet sind. Sie erheben sich über dem Eingangspodium, das die horizontale Erschließung bildet. Jeder Turm verfügt über 26 Geschosse, die durch Fußgängerbrücken miteinander verbunden sind. Die Außenfassade ist vollständig verglast und gibt dem Gebäude sein markantes Aussehen. Auch der Ausblick – der vor allem von der öffentlich-zugänglichen Dachterrasse aus bestaunt werden kann –  ist spektakulär.
Der EPO-Campus soll keine reine Arbeitsumgebung sein. Das Wohlbefinden der EPO Mitarbeiter soll durch Individualität, Orte für Begegnung und Kommunikation und dem Kontakt zur Natur verbessert werden. Cafeterien, Kantinen und Sportanlagen bilden daher einen wichtigen Teil des Campus. Ein Garten, der auf dem Dach des Eingangspodestes angelegt ist und durch die öffentlichen Aufzüge zugänglich ist, bietet Orte für spontane Kommunikation und Entspannung.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA