IWES Kassel

Fraunhofer Institute IWES Kassel/Germany
 
authors:
type/year:
images:

 

applied science

ingenhoven architects
2014, 1st prize intern. comp.
ingenhoven architects
Alexander Schmitz
The Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology IWES researches, among other things, the integration of renewable energies in supply structures. There was therefore no question that the new institute building in Kassel would feature a forward-looking energy concept.
The finished concept aims at minimizing the energy demand. The focus is on five main topics: optimal summer and winter thermal insulation, good supply of daylight, high comfort through radiant heating/cooling, an innovative ventilation concept and renewable energy generation through photovoltaic systems.
With the new institute building, consisting of a two-storey technical centre and a three-storey office building, a place of high spatiality and identity-creating quality is created. The high quality of indoor and outdoor living promotes spontaneous, informal communication among the employees. 
The glass control room in particular attracts attention. It is positioned as an exposed box square on the south-eastern edge of the roof and can be described as the "heart" of the new institute. 
 
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

IWES Kassel

Fraunhofer Institute IWES Kassel/Germany
 
authors:
type/year:
images:

 

angewandte Forschung

ingenhoven architects
2014, 1st prize intern. comp.
ingenhoven architects
Alexander Schmitz
Das Fraunhofer Institut für Windenergie und Energiesystemtechnik (IWES) forscht unter anderem zur Integration erneuerbarer Energien in Versorgungsstrukturen. Dass das neue Institutsgebäude in Kassel ein zukunftsweisendes Energiekonzept aufweisen würde, stand daher außer Frage.
Das fertige Konzept zielt auf die Minimierung des Energiebedarfs ab. Dabei stehen fünf Hauptthemen im Fokus: optimaler sommerlicher und winterlicher Wärmeschutz, gutes Tageslichtangebot, hohe Behaglichkeit durch Strahlungsheizung / -kühlung, ein innovatives Lüftungskonzept und erneuerbare Energieerzeugung durch Photovoltaikanlagen.
Mit dem neuen Institutsgebäude, bestehend aus einem zweigeschossigen Technikum und einem dreigeschossigen Bürogebäude, entsteht ein Ort von hoher Räumlichkeit und identitätsstiftender Qualität. Die hohe Aufenthaltsqualität im Innen- und Außenraum fördert die spontane, informelle Kommunikation unter den Mitarbeitern.
Besonders die gläserne Leitwarte zieht die Blicke auf sich. Sie ist als exponierter Logenplatz prägnant auf der südöstlichen Dachkante positioniert und kann als „Herzstück“ des neuen Instituts bezeichnet werden.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA