KöBogen 2, Düsseldorf

KöBogen 2, Düsseldorf/Germany
 
authors:
type/year:
images:

 

restaged

ingenhoven architects
1st prize intern. comp. 2015
ingenhoven architects,
Alexander Schmitz/Doug & Wolf
For a long time, Düsseldorf's northern city center was dominated by an autobahn. The demolition of the so-called "millipede" and an underground tunnel solution for motor traffic enabled an inner-city reorganization. The “KöBogen 2” business and office building, which is being built between Gustaf-Gründgens-Platz, the Schadowstraße shopping street and the restructured Jan-Wellem-Platz, creates a new urban transition between the courtyard garden, shopping street, playhouse and Dreischeibenhaus.
The building opens up to Gustaf-Gründgens-Platz in a special way thanks to tiered facades. The highlight: the facades are planted over the entire height of the building and the pitched roof. With 4000 meters of hornbeam hedges, this vertical park is a unique attraction. In addition to positive microclimate effects, the lively, constantly changing facade makes the four seasons visible and tangible and brings nature back into the city.
There is a second, smaller building opposite the large commercial building. Its grass-covered roof, rising to 10 meters, invites you to relax and unwind as a public meeting place. The roof can also be used as a festival stage for performances.
Both buildings form a valley and draw attention to the theater behind. For the first time, the listed playhouse from the 1960s will be worthily integrated into the city. The formerly unused theater forecourt turns into a stage of public life, enhances the social environment and invites you to linger.
 
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

KöBogen 2, Düsseldorf

KöBogen 2, Düsseldorf/Germany
 
authors:
type/year:
images:

 

neu inszeniert

ingenhoven architects
1st prize intern. comp. 2015
ingenhoven architects,
Alexander Schmitz/Doug & Wolf
Lange Zeit wurde Düsseldorfs nördliche Innenstadt von einer Autohochstraße dominiert. Der Abriss des sogenannten „Tausendfüßlers“ und eine unterirdische Tunnellösung für den Autoverkehr, ermöglichten eine innerstädtische Neuordnung. Das Geschäfts- und Bürohaus „KöBogen 2“, das zwischen Gustaf-Gründgens-Platz, der Einkaufsmeile Schadowstraße und dem restrukturiertem Jan-Wellem-Platz entsteht, schafft einen neuen städtebaulichen Übergang zwischen Hofgarten, Einkaufsmeile, Schauspielhaus und Dreischeibenhaus.
Durch abgestufte Fassaden öffnet sich das Gebäude auf besondere Weise zum Gustaf-Gründgens-Platz hin. Der Clou: die Fassaden sind über die Gesamthöhe des Gebäudes und des Schrägdachs bepflanzt. Mit 4000 laufenden Metern Hainbuchenhecken stellt dieser senkrechte Park eine einzigartige Attraktion dar. Neben positiven mikroklimatischen Effekten, macht die lebendige, sich stetig verändernde Fassade die vier Jahreszeiten sicht- und erfahrbar und bringt die Natur zurück in die Stadt.
Gegenüber dem großen Geschäftshaus befindet sich ein zweiter, kleinerer Bau. Dessen, auf 10 Meter ansteigendes, grasbepflanztes, Dach lädt als öffentlicher Begegnungsort zum Erholen und Entspannen ein. Darüber hinaus kann das Dach als Festival-Bühne für Aufführungen genutzt werden.
Beide Gebäude bilden einen Tal und lenken den Blick auf das dahinterliegende Schauspielhaus. Erstmalig steht wird das unter Denkmalschutz stehende Schauspielhaus aus den 60er Jahren würdig in die Stadt eingebunden sein. Der ehemals ungenutzte Theatervorplatz, wandelt sich zur Bühne des öffentlichen Lebens, wertet das soziale Umfeld auf und lädt zum Verweilen ein.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA