M20

Museum of Art, Berlin/Germany
 
type/year:
images:

 

A MoMA for Berlin

international competition 2015
Ben Dieckmann
Hiroshi Hirayama

The construction of the Museum of the 20th Century is planned on an open space between the Philharmonie, the New National Gallery and the Matthäuskirche in Berlin's Tiergarten district.

Ben Dieckmann's design sees the new museum as a direct component of the adjacent city life. He follows the modern idea of understanding museums no longer as temples, but as an integral part of urban life. The forecourt, which inclines towards the museum, becomes a public place for culture and exchange.

Appropriateness in the context of the surrounding buildings means that much of the museum should be underground. Since there will be a connection to the Neue Nationalgalerie, it will be possible to prove half the gross floor area of the museum underground with an exhibition floor and a technical floor.

The design provides the museum with clear orientation, logical room sequences, generosity in the movement areas and maximum flexibility and playability in the exhibition.

The open, spacious entrance merges into a vertical airspace connecting the exhibition floors. All exhibition spaces are lined up along the courtyard running through the building with the generous staircases and air spaces and side and skylights. The exhibition rooms are constructed in units of 800m² of exhibition space and with a free span of over 20m without columns and are therefore absolutely flexible.

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

M20

Museum of Art, Berlin/Germany
 
type/year:
images:

 

Box statt Scheune

international competition 2015
Ben Dieckmann
Hiroshi Hirayama

Auf einer Freifläche zwischen Philharmonie, Neuer Nationalgalerie und Matthäuskirche ist in Berlin Tiergarten der Bau des Museum des 20. Jahrhunderts geplant.

Ben Dieckmanns Entwurf versteht das neue Museum als unmittelbare Komponente des angrenzenden Stadtlebens. Er folgt der modernen Idee, Museen nicht mehr als Tempel, sondern als Bestandteil des urbanen Lebens zu begreifen. Der Vorplatz, der sich zum Museum hin neigt, wird ein öffentlicher Ort für Kultur und Austausch.

Angemessenheit im Kontext mit den umgebenden Bebauungen bedeutet, dass ein Großteil des Museums unterirdisch liegen sollte. Da eine Anbindung an die Neue Nationalgalerie erfolgen soll, ist es möglich, mit einem Ausstellungs- und einem Technikgeschoss, die halbe Grundfläche des Museums unterirdisch nachzuweisen.

Der Entwurf sieht für das Museum eine klare Orientierung, logische Raumfolgen, Großzügigkeit in den Bewegungsflächen und eine maximale Flexibilität und Bespielbarkeit in der Ausstellung vor.

Der offene, großzügige Eingang geht in einen vertikalen, die Ausstellungsgeschosse verbindenden Luftraum über. Alle Ausstellungräume reihen sich an dem längs durch das Gebäude laufenden Innenhof mit den großzügigen Treppen und Lufträumen und Seiten- bzw. Oberlicht, an. Die Ausstellungsräume sind in konstruktiven Einheiten von 800m² Ausstellungsfläche und mit einer über zwanzig Meter freispannenden Konstruktion stützenfrei und somit absolut flexibel angelegt.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA