Museo Villa Caviciana

Museum of Art, Lago di Bolsena/Italy
 
type/year:
images:
direct commission 2015-2018
Ben Dieckmann
Alexander Schmitz

 

vernacular architecture

About 150 kilometres north of Rome at the Lago di Bolsena, lies a country estate embedded in vineyards. The estate is to be extended by a private museum where the owners can exhibit their own and other artists' art. 
The Etruscans, an ancient Mediterranean people, had a decisive influence on the cultural and scenic development of the region. The floor plan of the museum therefore follows the tradition of classical Etruscan and Roman buildings. Apart from two doors and two narrow light gaps leading to the inner courtyard, the building has no exterior windows. This minimum number of light openings serves on the one hand to make the building economical and secure and on the other to protect the exhibits from light and temperature.
Since the exhibition space required is larger than the permitted above-ground volume, it was built as a two-storey underground building. The continuous inner courtyard, which begins at level -1, does not give the visitor the feeling of being in a basement at any point. At the same time, the ring-shaped interior - in proportion to the size of the museum - creates a very generous exhibition area. 

Unfortunately the project was stopped in 2018 after the death of the founder.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

Museo Villa Caviciana

Museum of Art, Lago di Bolsena/Italy
 
type/year:
images:
direct commission 2015-2018
Ben Dieckmann
Alexander Schmitz

 

Urtyp

Etwa 150 Kilometer nördlich von Rom am Lago di Bolsena, liegt ein in Weinberge gebettetes Landgut. Das Anwesen soll um ein privates Museum erweitert werden, in dem die Gutsbesitzer ihre eigene und die Kunst anderer Künstler ausstellen können.

Die Etrusker, ein altmediterranes Volk, prägten entscheidend die kulturelle und landschaftliche Entwicklung der Region. Der Grundriss des Museums orientiert sich daher an der Tradition klassischer etruskischer und römischer Gebäude. Bis auf zwei Türen und zwei schmale Lichtspalten, die zum Innenhof führen, besitzt das Gebäude keine Außenfenster. Dieses Minimum an Lichtöffnungen dient zum einen der Wirtschaftlichkeit und der Sicherheit des Gebäudes, zum anderen dient es den Ausstellungsstücken als Schutz vor Licht und Temperatur.

Da die benötigte Ausstellungsfläche größer ist als das zugelassene oberirdische Volumen, wurde sie zweigeschossig unterirdisch gebaut. Durch den auf Ebene -1 beginnenden, durchgehenden Innenhof, entsteht für den Besucher jedoch an keiner Stelle das Gefühl sich in einem Untergeschoss zu befinden. Gleichzeitig schafft der ringförmige Innenraum– im Verhältnis zur Größe des Museums –  eine sehr großzügige Ausstellungsfläche.

Das Projekt wurde 2018 leider nach dem Tod des Stifters gestoppt.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA