SIGMA Business Center

Mixed-Use, Wien/Austria
 
authors:
type/year:
images:
ingenhoven architects
2013, internationaler Wettbewerb
ingenhoven architects

 

growing city

More than 2 million people will live in the Austrian capital in the next 20 years. There is a great need for more living space and jobs. The greatest urban planning challenge is to reconcile the protection of the world cultural heritage with modern urban development.

Among the construction projects is the Signa Business Center planned directly at Vienna's main railway station. The design for the Business Center is based on the idea of not building a closure of the block perimeter, but four individual buildings. The buildings, which are staggered in height, are connected by a central, light-flooded hall.

The curved shape of the individual buildings creates a dynamic interior, which allows natural and direct access to the main station on foot. The result is a meeting zone that does justice to the importance of the location and creates identity through its spatial and functional quality.

With its timeless elegance, the project blends into its surroundings. The staggered structures create a connection between the classical block structure of the grown city and the urban extensions.

 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA

SIGMA Business Center

Mixed-Use, Wien/Austria
 
authors:
type/year:
images:
ingenhoven architects
2013, internationaler Wettbewerb
ingenhoven architects

 

Wien wächst

In der österreichischen Bundeshauptstadt werden in den kommenden 20 Jahren mehr als 2 Millionen Menschen leben. Es besteht großer Bedarf an mehr Wohnraum und Arbeitsplätzen. Die größte städtebauliche Herausforderung ist dabei die Vereinbarkeit zwischen Schutz des Weltkulturerbes und einer zeitgemäßen Stadtentwicklung.

Zu den Bauprojekten zählt auch das direkt am Wiener Hauptbahnhof geplante Business Center von Signa. Der Entwurf für das Business Center basiert auf der Idee keine Schließung des Blockrandes zu bauen, sondern vier einzelne Gebäude. Verbunden werden die in ihrer Höhe gestaffelten Baukörpern durch eine zentrale, lichtdurchflutete Halle.

Durch die gekurvte Ausformung der einzelnen Bauten entsteht ein dynamischer Innenraum, der die natürliche und direkte fußläufige Erschließung zum Hauptbahnhof ermöglicht. Es entsteht eine Begegnungszone, die der Bedeutung des Standortes gerecht wird und durch seine räumliche und funktionale Qualität identitätsstiftend wirkt.

In seiner zeitlosen Eleganz fügt sich das Projekt in die Umgebung ein. Die gestaffelten Baukörper schaffen eine Verbindung zwischen der klassischen Blockstruktur der gewachsenen Stadt und den städtebaulichen Erweiterungen.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Ben

Dieckmann

architects

BDA

architecture Architektur

interior interiordesign

productdesign design

Meerbusch

Düsseldorf

 

© 2020 by Ben Dieckmann architects BDA